||Quitclaim Deed San Diego County
Tue May 11, 2010, 5:57pm
Quitclaim Deed San Diego CountySan Diego County Quitclaim Deed
Quitclaim Deed Form San Diego
A deed used to transfer any interest in real property that the grantor may have. It contains no warranties of any kind.
The County Recorder, upon payment of proper fees and taxes, will accept any Quitclaim deed for San Diego County which is
authorized or required by California law to be recorded, if the Quit Claim Deed Form contains required information
and if it is photographically reproducible.
Quitclaim Deed Forms (San Diego) may be presented for recording at any of the Assessor/Recorder/County Clerk offices. The addresses are listed below for your convenience.
County Administration Center
1600 Pacific Highway, Suite 260
San Diego, CA 92101
El Cajon Branch
200 S. Magnolia Ave
El Cajon, CA 92020 San Marcos Branch
141 East Carmel St.
San Marcos, CA 92069
All applicable fees must be paid at the time of recording.
Each San Diego County Quitclaim Deed presented for recording MUST include or comply with the following general requirements.
If any portion of your recordable document is in a foreign language*, it must be translated into English. The translator will need to complete a Declaration and Verification of Interpretation form for submission to the County Clerk. The County Clerk will then complete a Translation Certificate for a fee of $10.00. Both the Declaration of Interpretation and the Translation Certificate forms must be completed and attached to the document prior to recording.
The property must be located in San Diego County.(CC1169)
The Quit Claim Deed Form must be authorized or required by law to be recorded. (GC 27201)
The Quit Claim Deed Form must be submitted with the proper fees and taxes. (GC 6301, 27201, 27261)
The Quit Claim Deed must be in compliance with state and local laws.
The Quit Claim Deed should Name the person requesting recording. (GC 27361.6)
The document should state the Name and address to whom the document should be returned, fill in "Recording Requested By and Mail To". (GC 27361.6)
The document must be legible enough to produce a readable photographic record.(GC 27201, 27361.6, 27361.7)
Signatures must be original unless the San Diego Quit Claimdeed is a certified copy issued by the appropriate custodian of the public record. (GC 27201b, GC 28288, Evid Code 1530)
The Quitclaim Deed San Diego must be properly acknowledged, unless exempt. California requires an (all-purpose acknowledgement).(GC 27201, 27289, 27285, 27287, 27288, CC 1189)
The Assessor’s Parcel Number is required on deeds by local Ordinance. (R&T 11911.1)
Assessor's Parcel Number(s) (APN)
The APN is a ten-digit number and can be found on the most recent tax bill for the property.
The notary seal must be legible for a microfilm reproduction. (GC 8207)
Documentary Transfer Tax is due on all taxable conveyances in excess of $100 at a rate of $.55 per $500 or fractional portion of real property value; excluding any liens or encumbrances already of record as required, per Revenue and Taxation Code 11911. It is collected at the time of recording on each deed, or instrument. A Documentary Transfer Tax Declaration must be completed and signed for all deeds. If no Documentary Transfer Tax is due, so indicate by entering "0" on the tax line and sign the declaration. Please explain the reason why no tax is due on the document or on a separate signed statement.(R&T 11932)
When transfering property to ANYONE a "Preliminary Change of Ownership Report" IS REQUIRED per the Revenue and Taxation Code 480.2,
If a "Preliminary Change of Ownership Report" is required, but not submitted at the time of recording, please include an additional $20.00 for the Ownership Change fee. Preliminary Change of Ownership Forms are available at the customer counter or it can be mailed to you upon request by calling (619) 238-8158.
You may also mail in your documents for recording with a check, cashier’s check or money order made payable to:
The San Diego County Recorder
P.O. Box 121750
San Diego, California 92112-1750
Your request is processed upon receipt. Please allow 2-4 weeks to receive your original recorded Quitclaim Deed back in the mail.
The office of the Recorder/County Clerk is PROHIBITED from giving ANY legal advice or to assist in document preparation. They DO NOT provide any notarial services. The correct San Diego Quitclaim Deed may be purchased at www.theeasyforms.com
Once you have the appropriate form, you may prepare it yourself, consult legal counsel or contact a local title company or escrow company
RECORDER/COUNTY CLERK’S OFFICE
1600 PACIFIC HIGHWAY, SUITE 260
P.O. BOX 121750, SAN DIEGO, CA 92112-1750
QUESTIONS –CONTACT SAN DIEGO RECORDER PH (619) 237-0502 FAX (619) 557-4155
BASIC RECORDING AND FILING FEES THAT CAN APPLY TO A QUITCLAIM DEED- SANDIEGO
Effective January 1, 2010
REGULAR RECORDING FEE (Government Code 27361, 27361.4 and 27388)
First page regular recording fee . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ 9.00
Special Real Estate Fraud Prosecution Program Fee for the following types of documents . . . . . . . $ 3.00
Deeds of Trust
Assignments of Deed of Trust
Substitutions of Trustee
Requests for Notice
Notices of Default
Notices of Rescission of Declaration of Default
Notice of Trustee Sale
Each additional page or fraction of page . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ 3.00
EACH page when document, signed on or after 7-1-94,
contains ANY page(s) NOT 8 ½ x 11 inches in size (not to exceed 8 ½ x 14) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ 3.00
COMBINED DOCUMENTS (Government Code 27361, 27361.1, 27361.4 and 27388)
When two or more documents are serially incorporated into one form or sheet, they will be considered as two or
more separate documents. An appropriate base recording fee of $9.00 will be charged for the first page plus a
$3.00 fraud fee when applicable, and $3.00 each additional page, PLUS $12.00 or $9.00, as required for each
additional title to be indexed. For example:
A Deed of Trust and an Assignment of Rents Base Fee $ 9.00
single sheet, front side only Fraud Fee 3.00
Additional Title 9.00
TOTAL FEE . . . . . . . $21.00
A Substitution of Trustee and Reconveyance Base Fee $ 9.00
combined on both sides of a sheet of paper Fraud Fee 3.00
Add’l Page 3.00
Add’l Title 9.00
Add’l Fraud Fee 3.00
TOTAL FEE . . . . . . . $27.00
A Deed of Trust & Request for Notice Base Fee $ 9.00
single sheet, front side only Fraud Fee 3.00
Add’l Title Base Fee 9.00
Add’l Title Fraud Fee 3.00
If you have any experience with San Diego County Recorder's Office, please share it with us by posting in the comments section!
||Thanks for this information, great stuff about deeds in our county!
|On Wed May 12, 2010, 9:48am
|angela ghazialam Said:
||where can we get the quit claim deed form?
|On Tue February 1, 2011, 7:39am
||How you can you do the process if you live in another state?
|On Tue September 20, 2011, 10:01am