Mon May 3, 2010, 11:12am
Record a Quit Claim Deed in Santa Clara County, CaliforniaHow to Record Quit Claim Deed Documents in Santa Clara County California
Santa Clara County Quitclaim Deed
It is the form of deed that conveys or releases any interest that the grantor may have acquired in real property.
You may record documents in person or by mail. If recording in person, bring the original document ("wet-ink signature") to they’re office during business hours (8:00 AM to 4:30 PM). If your document meets all the recording requirements and upon payment of the proper fees, your document will be recorded while you wait. The original documents are mailed back to the name and address shown on the upper left corner of the first page. Original documents are usually mailed back within 4 to 6 weeks of recording. They recommend that you try to avoid recording during They’re busiest times. They’re busiest recording times are from 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM every day and all day on the last business day of the month.
If submitting documents by mail, remember to include payment by check or money order. The check should be made payable to: Clerk-Recorder's Office. For fee calculation, see Recording Fees. Mail your document and payment to this address:
East Wing, First floor
70 West Hedding Street
San Jose, CA 95110
Monday through Friday
8:00 AM to 4:30 PM
When your document is examined, it will be either accepted or rejected for recordation. If it is rejected, your document (and payment) will be sent back unrecorded with an explanation of why it was rejected. Accepted documents will be processed as described above. An image of the document is kept in the Recorder's Office permanent record collection where it becomes part of the public record. Once a document is accepted for recording, it cannot be removed, replaced, or modified.
Certain documents, such as builder's contracts, are filed rather than recorded. Filed documents are kept on site at the Recorder's Office for 5-10 years, depending upon the document type.
General Information on Recording Official Documents
By recording a document, the document becomes part of the public records of the County Recorder. Many types of documents are recorded to provide the public with notice of chain of title or other interest in real property. You may only record documents that are authorized or required by law to be recorded. Note that the Clerk-Recorder's Office is unable to give legal advice such as what type of document you need, or how to complete a document. They recommend you seek advice from an attorney before you record documents that affect title to property.
In order for a document to be recorded, the document must:
Be a document that is authorized or required by law to be recorded.
Meet statutory requirements for that document.
Have original signatures or be a certified copy from the court or other government agency.
Have a 2 1/2" top margin on the first page. (If not, you must add a cover page and you will be charged for an extra page.
Contain the name and return address in the upper left corner of the first page (or cover page).
List the title (or titles) of your document on the first page.
Not have any page with dimensions larger than 8 1/2" by 14".
Note that the standard size for a recorded page is 8 1/2" by 11". Any page that is not standard size (and still does not exceed the 8 1/2" by 14" maximum) triggers a page size penalty, which is applied to ALL pages of the document. Any page that is larger than 8 1/2" by 14" is NOT accepted at all.
FEE INCREASES ON JANUARY 1, 2010
Effective 1/1/2010, fees were increased in the areas of 1) Recording,
RECORDING. The State of California has amended Government Code section 227361, regarding recording fees for the first page of a standard document. Effective 1/1/2010, the cost for recording the first page of a standard document was increased from $9.00 to $15.00. There was no change to the $3.00 additional page fee, nor any additional applicable fees such as the Real Estate Instrument fee. This did result in an increase in the Notary Oath Filing Fee to $53, as well as in an increase for Professional Registrations.