Wed July 28, 2010, 4:07pm
Quit Claim Deed Pierce County, WashingtonQuit Claim Deed Pierce County, Washington
Information pertaining to recording a Quit Claim Deed:
Below are the requirements pursuant to RCWs 65.04.45 and 65.04.47, effective January 1, 1997.
First page of each Quit Claim Deed form must have a 3 inch top margin and 1 inch side and bottom margins. All succeeding pages must have a 1 inch margin on all sides of each page.
A Quit Claim Deed that must be recorded immediately and which do not meet margin and font size requirements may be recorded for an additional fee of $50.00 per RCW 65.04. The cover sheet which includes the non-standard recording request, must be completed and signed by the Quit Claim Deed preparer. This cover sheet must be attached to each non-complying Quit Claim Deed Document. Regular fees apply, PLUS the $50.00 additional fee, and will be due on each non-complying document. Non-standard documents are NOT EXEMPT from the requirement that they be fully legible.
The first page of each Quit Claim Deed Form must contain the following information:
1. Return address in upper left corner, within the top 3' margin
2. Document title (Quit Claim Deed)
3. Name of grantor and grantee, with reference to page where additional names are located
4. Abbreviated legal description, with reference to page where complete legal is located.
Abbreviated legal for this purpose means either lot, block and subdivision name/number OR section/township/range and quarter/quarter section.
5. Reference number(s) if referencing a previously recorded document.
6. Assessor's tax parcel number on a line separate from other text, if the Quit Claim Deed Document contains a legal description.
Per House Bill 1385, effective 7/24/05:
The Quit Claim Deed to be recorded must be fully completed and signed by the grantor(s) in front of a notary. They do not have a notary available to the public in their office, nor can their staff provide legal advice.
When any instrument, except those generated by governmental agencies, is presented to a county auditor or recording officer for recording, the Quit Claim Deed may not contain the following information: (a) A social security number; (b) a date of birth identified with a particular person; or (c) the maiden name of a person's parent so as to be identified with a particular person.
If required indexing information does not appear on the first page of the Quit Claim Deed form, a cover sheet must be completed listing all of the necessary information. Fee to record will increase by $1.00 if cover sheet is attached.
Page size for a Pierce County Quit Claim Deed may not exceed 8 1/2 by 14 inches.
Font size must be 8 point or larger and information on all pages must be legible and reproducible, including map pages.
Paper and ink must be of weight and color capable of producing a legible image.
No attachments are permitted (i.e. stapled/taped notary acknowledgement, legals, etc)
Documents exempt from format requirements that may be recorded with a completed cover sheet include:
Documents signed prior to 1/1/1997, documents executed outside the U.S., certified copies of documents, documents formatted to meet court requirements, and documents where the original signer is deceased or otherwise incapacitated.
Failure to meet the requirements of this statute will result in the Quit Claim Deed Document(s) being returned without being recorded. Please call (253) 798-7440 + 0 if you have any questions or email PCAUDITOR@co.pierce.wa.us
Contact the Pierce County Recorders Office:
Phone: 253-798-7440 + 0
2401 S. 35th St. Room 200
Tacoma, WA 98409
Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday
Effective February 1, 2010
Recording of ONLY those instruments with the following titles, 1st page
Appointment of Successor Trustee .................$14.00
Assignment of Deed of Trust...................... $14.00
Resignation of Trustee .........................$14.00
Substitution of Trustee................... $14.00
Resignation & Appointment of Successor Trustee $28.00
Deed of Trust ....................................$63.00
Recording of All other Instruments, 1st page $62.00
- Each Additional Page............................$1.00
Recording non-standard documents
(in addition to regular fee) .................$50.00
Recording multiple-transaction instruments, for each transaction after the first: $14.00, $32.00, $62.00, $63.00, depending upon document title
Please note the following cut-off times for recording:
- Quit Claim Deed recordings may be walked to the window by the general public until they close at 4:30 PM